This shrine was built by Toyotomi Hideyoshi in 1587. The construction stopped when Hideyoshi passed away, so the walls and ceiling remain unfinished. During the Edo Period the shrine became popular among the locals, and so the building became "Toyokuni Shrine," and was dedicated to Toyotomi Hideyoshi and Kato Kiyomasa in the Meiji Period. It is the largest wooden building on Miyajima Island, and is called "Senjokaku" because the size is equivalent to 857 tatami mats.
1-1 Miyajima-cho, Hatsukaichi-shi, Hiroshima
+81829-44-2020 (Itsukushima Shrine Office)